fbpx Skip to main content
Press Release

Buffalo Society of Natural Sciences Appoints New Board Members Liesl Folks and Ralph Elbert

By April 9, 2018July 23rd, 2018No Comments

BUFFALO, NY (April 9, 2018) – The Buffalo Society of Natural Sciences, which governs both the Buffalo Museum of Science and Tifft Nature Preserve, announced today the appointment of Liesl Folks, Ph.D., and Ralph Elbert to its Board of Managers for a three-year term.

Dr. Folks is the Dean of the School of Engineering & Applied Sciences at the University at Buffalo. She received her Ph.D. in physics from the University of Western Austrailia, and is an internationally recognized expert in nanotechnology and magnetism. She served as president of the IEEEs Magnetics Society and was a member of a congressionally-mandated panel for the Triennial Review of the National Nanotechnology Initiative, facilitated by the National Academy of Sciences, in 2012.

Elbert is the Group Vice President and General Manager for the Aircraft Group Military Sector for Moog, Inc. He holds a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from University of Colorado, and M.S. in Control Systems from the University of Southern California.

Folks and Elbert join the Buffalo Society of Natural Sciences Board of Managers as four long-time members, Herbert F. Darling, Jr., Richard B. Dopkins, Mary Ann Kresse and Lorene Potter, end their service.

These appointments come on the heels of the Board of Managers’ approval of the Buffalo Museum of Science’s new 2018-2020 strategic plan, which is centered around the Museum’s commitment to raising the level of science literacy and engagement for all in Western New York. The plan outlines new programming and initiatives that will expand the Museum’s impact on local families, adults, teens and the Museum’s East Side neighbors.

For additional information about the Buffalo Society of Natural Sciences, the Buffalo Museum of Science, and Tifft Nature Preserve, visit www.sciencebuff.org.